More procrastinating?

It has been far too long, and I’m going to make  a renewed effort to, you know, actually write here. So! News!

I got into a great school. It’s very exciting. I’m leaving New York in mid August and moving up to Syracuse. That part will be tough. I have heard terrible things about winter there, and I don’t do well with endless cold. Hopefully I will be too busy to notice. John and I drove up this week and I got an apartment. I think. I put in an application and a deposit check, so it’s fairly solid, but I haven’t heard the total final approval yet. But it’s great, 4 blocks from campus, a good price, an actual one bedroom with a front and back door and a dishwasher and laundry in the basement and they’re okay with the cats. And someone left behind a printer that I’ll inherit. It might even work! All good things.

In terms of the school itself, it should be great. I get to major in Conservation Biology, there are a ton of classes that sound really great, and they have a summer field station where I’ll take condensed classes that are 2 weeks long, 8-10 hours a day. I can’t wait. I just have to get through taking precalculus this summer. And, you know, finishing this semester first. I have a giant paper to write, and finals to study for, which of course means that I’ve some down with some sort of life-sucking illness. I’m slowly working through a couple of assignments today, and hopefully tomorrow my brain will be back up and running for real. Oog.

In between getting an apartment and getting sick, I finally went to the zoo again. This time I went to a bunch of things I’ve never seen before and nothing that I usually go to. I definitely missed the tigers and lions and the snow leopard and red panda and all of my other favorites to watch, but I finally saw the lemurs and butterflies and sea lions and all. Oh! And the okapi! I love them in all their odd zebrahorseness. Here are some of my pictures from the day-

IMGP8782IMGP9145 IMGP9139 IMGP9127 IMGP9067 IMGP9061 IMGP9037 IMGP9014 IMGP9010 IMGP8986 IMGP8965 IMGP8938 IMGP8931 IMGP8898

This guy was making the oddest little mooing sound

IMGP8868

 

Right after this, he fell in face first.

Leave a comment